Peak Week II

by

The great news is that I have found new employment. One of the many benefits of this change is a dramatically shorter commute–29.6 miles shorter–each way. I will, in fact, be cycling to work from December 6th. It is a great day to be alive.

I filled up the tank of the trusty old Terceleporter today. This may be the last full tank I burn before the end of my motorized commute. Although cold weather is certainly detrimental to efficient driving, I think a peculiarity of my car and our current temperatures may come together for a very special tank.

The target I failed to achieve during the first peak week was 53 mpg. Over the course of the following summer I was able to average over 54 mpg and set a personal record of 57.7 mpg.

Looking at the weather over the next 10 days, I’m going to set my new target to fail to reach at 56 mpg. I filled up the Terceleporter to the first pump click today. I will endeavor to return to the same pump and fill to first click for the end of the tank.

Although the weather is much less favorable now than during the first peak week, I have three things going for me.
1) Several mods have been completed since the last run.
Terceleporter 25 October 2010
2) Road construction along my route has been completed.
3) I now have instrumentation, which has allowed me to identify a special, high-performance mode I’m going to call “Glory Time”.

 

Ladies and Gentlemen, it’s peak week again.

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Peak Week II”

  1. toby Says:

    I’m going outside to pump up the tires.

  2. Nathan Colgate Says:

    I like that ultra gauge.

Leave a Reply

