This One

by

Kenyans are not given to the ooey gooey in their affections. Their dignity is simply too great.

There is an expression I learned in Kenya that has really stayed with me. When introducing or speaking of a person you care for, especially while they are present, you refer to them as “this one.” It is said in a way that is indefinably charming. There is something between a smile and smirk that accompanies the phrase, and it signifies love.

For example, I might ask Fred Kitanga how long he has been a married man. His reply, if his wife Rose were anywhere around, would almost certainly be, “It was in 1969 that I found this one.” The smallest, most gentle gesture of his hand toward her would likely be seen.

Maybe what I like about this expression is that it seems to imply a sense of pride on the part of the speaker.

A moment I deeply relished in my relationship with my wife was when I was able to introduce her to my Kenyan host family, the Malukis. “I have brought you…this one,” I said.

Maybe what I like about it is that it holds up this person as something worthy of serious attention. In my mind, it elevates the target person to a nearly illicit degree of grandiosity. Upon sight of the person no further explanation is necessary. The excellence is patently obvious. Take a moment to consider this one…if you dare.

It is one year now that I have been the husband of my wife, Maureen. For the moment, in this blog, all that I will say is that I am so very glad I found this one:

3 Responses to “This One”

  1. clark Says:

    a grand expression, indeed. well said. congratulations on year one.

  2. hannah Says:

    could it follow then that when i introduce the lunn’s to someone new, i could say “these two”? because you both certainly hold that level of gradiosity for me. congratulations my friend on finding the one, and to many more years with that one.

Leave a Reply

