Maureen and Nausicaa

by

I realize one must expect the unexpected occurrences in the course of married life. This world is strange.

A few days ago my wife walked into our home and announced that she had recently viewed “Spirited Away” and had developed an interest in the work of Hayao Miyazaki.

Um.

I own three DVDs. One of them was a gift. Of the two that I have purchased, and of the three in total, my favorite is “Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind.”

Last night we watched it together with mutually favorable results.

In the words of our commander in chief, “let me be clear.” “Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind” is a 116 minute sci-fi fantasy epic cartoon from Japan. If I were a person of any aesthetic conviction, many people would have heard about this movie from me many years ago. But at the time that I discovered and fell in love with the work of Mr. Miyazaki, I recognized it for what it also was: a nerd badge of the highest caliber here in the midwest. I hoarded this treasure unto myself, as I am wont to do.

It is quite mind-boggling that my dear wife independently came to at least an appreciation of this art on her own.

What can be next? She will bring home a copy of “Akira” or “End of Evangelion?”

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Maureen and Nausicaa”

  1. maureen Says:

    Well this just goes to show—a perfect example for all those people who said stuff like “Just wait…6 months into marriage you’re going to realize that you didn’t even know this person at all”…Pfff! Take that suckers. The only thing we didn’t expect was my interest in anime, which seems to have won my husband over for life. Boom.

    If we ever get in a fight and you’re mad at me, I’m just going to say, “Want to watch Princess Mononoke?”, and you’ll remember how much you love me.

    I’d like to thank Michelle Bridges for the opportunity to see Spirited Away and come to my own independent opinion. Headed to Blockbuster soon to bring some more anime home for the weekend.

  2. hannah Says:

    excellent discovery! which reminds me, eliot has been itching to watch castle in the sky again and we believe our copy is in your possession. nerd.

Leave a Reply

