The “Southern Belt” or the Jurassic?

by

Dear Ukweli Readers,

What follows is the latest from Toby, who apparently has not only ventured into the Sudan, but has also made his way back to the Mesozoic Era.

“So I am in what is called the ‘Southern Belt’ of the Nuba project. I am
in an area called Korrorak. It seems pretty nice here. There is a
certain Fred Flintstone feeling to the landscape. It is filled with huge
boulders, small mountains, and thousands of palm trees. It is very
different from Northern Kenya. It feels like a dinosaur could be around
the next bend.

“I went out to work sites for the first time today. I was impressed about
certain things. This will very definitely be a management type job,
rather than laboring. Very different from AIM-Tech in that regard. There
is cool soda available nearby, and there is a mobile phone tower in the
next town. No SIM cards, or credit yet there, but they can’t be far
behind. Food seems good. I have heard that there is a certain red
sorghum that I will be expected to eat, and that it is awful.”

Toby is one of my heroes. I mean that.

3 Responses to “The “Southern Belt” or the Jurassic?”

  1. Sage Says:

    Aaah, he’s all blow and no-go. But I agree with you. One of mine, too.

  2. Lou Ann Says:

    and he’s growing on me pretty darn fast! We love you Toby! Can’t wait to read your next post.

  3. toby Says:

    Oof. Take it easy, guys.

Leave a Reply

