Back to Basics

by

I was told a number of things about Kauda base before arriving here. Among them was the blissfully received assurance that good, “high-speed” internet connectivity was there for the taking. The reality has fallen well short. Skype and any kind of useful internet browsing are simply out of the question at the moment. I am told this is a recent development. Perhaps you are asking yourself how I am writing these delightful blog posts? By waiting 178 seconds for the interface to load is my answer. Perhaps someday the dream of high connectivity in Africa will be realized for me. This is not the first time it has been pledged to me. It is certainly not the first time the dream has been dashed. My main grief here, of course, revolves around a certain Maureen Didde.

I am leaving for my new post tomorrow. I will be joining a young man named Chase in what is called the Southern Belt section of the Nuba project. If you are praying for me, pray that I will adapt quickly to the new situation. Pray that I will be able to work well–like 2005 well.

I will be in the Southern Belt for a minimum of two weeks. My communication will be strictly by email at this point. I want to hear from everyone who cares to write to me. But I do have a couple of request to make sure that remains possible:

1. Please make sure the email is under 120 Kb. If you are just writing text,  this should not be a concern at all. Please be very judicious with attachments. If you are not sure what size your attachment and email are, assume they are too big.

2. Forwards are often very large, by African standards. If your email involves anything that dances or changes colors, please don’t send it to me.

3. Please be patient with me. It may take time to respond.

4. This may sound weird, but don’t assume that my emails are chronologically linked to yours. Sometimes it may be that I can send email, but not receive it; or vice versa.

5. I’m serious about the email size thing. One or two big emails could kill my ability to get email at all.

Sorry I keep bumping you, David. That is about to come to an end.

Hang in there Maureen.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Back to Basics”

  1. guestspeaker Says:

    Bump me. Here in the US we’re able to scroll down. You hang in there too, Toby.

  2. maureen Says:

    Hanging on tight.

Leave a Reply

