Wednesday Top 5 / All-Time Favorite Books

by

*As of 2007. Of course this could change. Currently, John Irving‘s A Prayer for Owen Meany (1989) is threatening to shake up the top 10.

In chronological order:

  1. A FAREWELL TO ARMS (1929) by Earnest Hemingway. Everyone needs to read at least one book by Hemingway. Hands down, his writing style – or voice – is the strongest and cleanest I’ve ever read. It’s as if he’s sitting next to you, telling you the story rather than reading words on a page.
  2. TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD (1960) by Harper Lee. Holds fast as my all-time favorite book. Nostalgia, mystery, superstition, controversy, love, and thoroughly heroic. What doesn’t this book have?
  3. WINTER OF OUR DISCONTENT (1961) by John Steinbeck. Upon the closing of this book, it shot straight to my top 5. I personally have never read another book that hits so close to home. And by “home” I mean my internal life. That life only you know about and could never really, accurately explain to any other individual.
  4. FRANNY & ZOEY (1961) by J.D. Salinger. Read it once. Read it twice. Read it again and again because dang if those characters never grow tiresome.
  5. DANDELION WINE by Ray Bradbury. Mr. Bradbury is the reason I began to read books. This, in my opinion, is his best work. To me, it is the male version of To Kill a Mockingbird.
2 Responses to “Wednesday Top 5 / All-Time Favorite Books”

  1. toby Says:

    Most days I would probably say something wishy washy like “Franny and Zoey is my favorite short book.” I have to agree that Harper Lee must have sat down and wrote a list of the best human qualities, and then put them all in one book.

  2. hannah Says:

    dang. that is a good list. the only thing i would add is east of eden, but i know you like it. man. i want to sit down with all of those and not get up until they all are finished. except to go to the bathroom of course.

Leave a Reply

