The End of Books

by

I don’t know if you remember me saying this. Specifically, I said, “We have had the technology to put thousands of books in a digital format in our pockets, possibly for free, for years.” Well, it’s time for a moment of truth.

You can’t quite put the Kindle in your pocket. It’s not exactly free at $400 each, but it is sold out. I would not have predicted that. I need to adjust my estimations of American shoppers. We are, apparently, early adopters on high-dollar electronics.

Hang in there books. I’m pulling for you.

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “The End of Books”

  1. mike Says:

    “Kindle?” As in, “to set on fire?” That’s an interesting product name. It sounds like technology has some sinister plans for your beloved books.

  2. toby Says:

    You just blew my mind, Mike. I hadn’t even noticed that.

  3. guestspeaker Says:

    though i do not like the sound of “the end of books” i must say i do like saving trees. many many people will have to buy into this though to really have an effect on that front.

  4. maureen Says:

    Here’s some books that actually do fit in your pocket:

    http://tankmagazine.com/tankbooks/

  5. Sage Says:

    Books? I think I remember books. Weren’t they little square things with little lines of ink blotches in them? And when you got a lot of them you had to put them in boxes and carry them wherever you moved? And they were the heaviest things you owned. So you didn’t really need to buy a bunch of exercise machines: you could just carry your boxes of books around and look great….and real smart, too.

Leave a Reply

