Sudan

by

I need to make known certain facts.  I have been waiting for plans to concretize–for documents to be signed. I sit now in Boone, North Carolina. Tomorrow I will begin an orientation program for service with Samaritan’s Purse. Specifically, I have been accepted for the role of field engineer for disaster relief in Sudan.

I am not certain which facts of my upcoming life are safe to relay publicly. I hope to have that question answered in the course of this week. I have signed a one year contract. The project to which I signed has been ongoing for several years, and is open ended at the moment. My departure is set for the first week of January.

I have been interested in what Samaritan’s Purse has been doing in Sudan for almost 3 years now. I delayed for a long time in making a decision to apply. I had many things to think through following my life with AIM-Tech. I would not be honest with you if I said that they were all resolved in my mind and heart. In spite of this, the courage came to me. And I was delighted when I found that I had been accepted.

I am looking forward to living in East Africa again. I am looking forward to experiencing a culture which is markedly different from both of my previous homes. I am looking forward to working hard toward something worthwhile. I am looking forward to old friends and family. And to be sure, I am looking forward to the adventure, and the wonder.

I am not looking forward to bucket showers. I am not looking forward to the roads. I am not looking forward to being irrevocably reminded of man’s broken nature.

I am not looking forward to being separated from this sweet lady.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Sudan”

  1. Sage Says:

    Does 2008 sound like an awesome year? You bet your pork n beans it does. By the way, your GPS thingy came via UPS. I’ve been using it to find my way out the front door. (Just kidding. It’s still in the box.)

Leave a Reply

