Coupons and Me

by

I have tried not to make the old blog a place for complaints. This post is going to come dangerously close, so try to read it as a humor piece. This is a true story. I tell it because it illustrates my particular difficulties with coupons, red tape, paperwork, and policy in general.

I was in my last year of college. My roommate at the time was one Brett Wiese. In those days, Brett was dating the lady that would eventually become his wife–Vikkie. It was a school night, and I was working on some engineering project or another. Vikkie was over and the three of us had decided to order pizza from Papa John’s. You see, Vikkie had a coupon for a two-for-one deal on large pizza. Just after ordering, something needed Brett and Vikkie’s attention elsewhere. I don’t remember what the errand was. They thought they would be back shortly, but had better leave the money and coupon with me in case the delivery came while they were out.

I glanced at the coupon and realized that it was out of date. Vikkie assured me that they would honor it anyway. I agreed that this was probably true, for most people. For me, however, it would not work. I cautioned my young friends that if they left me with this situation, they should not be surprised when they returned to find that I had payed full price for the two pizzas. This is just the way things work with me. Vikkie was having none of that and left me with her insistence that I would succeed.

As I predicted, the pizza man arrived and refused to accept my coupon. This is where the point really gets driven home. Vikkie and Brett returned at the moment the deliverer and I had reached an impasse. I was digging extra bills out of my wallet to pay full price. Vikkie walks up to me, takes the coupon out of my hand, and hands it to the delivery boy, AND HE ACCEPTS IT.

4 Responses to “Coupons and Me”

  1. Leigh Ann Says:

    I can do nothing but laugh…. you are “coupon challenged” (did you point out that the coupon was out of date?)

  2. hannah Says:

    oh my. and psub yesterday? i had no idea. you should have let me come in with you.

  3. vikkie Says:

    Toby,
    I loved this story, so funny. I had totally forgotten about this!!!! I guess I didn’t know you had a history of bad luck with coupons.

  4. Sage Says:

    I think I hate coupons. They are designed as a come-on and often you wind up buying things you don’t really want just because you got a discount on a jacked-up price. This kind of sales illusion is everywhere in our culture. We all know this is going on. And we still pat ourselves on the back when we make a “great buy.” I want to go to the store/restaurant/business and simply get what I want and them to price it fairly. Cut to the chase. Cut out all the bull swill.
    This is why they never price anything evenly. It is always this only costs 399.99 instead of 400.00. Why? Because my mind will trick me. My mind will say that 399.99 is a great buy. If it said 400.00 I would say, “Nope. Too expensive.” But, 399.99! “I’ll take it.”

Leave a Reply

