Ear Wax Removal

by

My home’s suzerain came to me the other day with concern over shocking news he had heard on the radio. Doctors had publicly declared inadvisable the use of q-tips for removing ear wax.

Researching the possibility of home ear lavage using the internet, I discovered this reputable looking product. I felt like $65 was a bit much for what is really just a large plastic syringe.

I was going over to my local auto parts store anyway, so I picked up a fluid transmission pump. I added a couple of hose reducers from the hardware store. One thing led to another and pretty soon I had my own home ear lavage machine.

Yes it makes me dizzy. Yes it is a little scary. But can you argue with results like these:

ear wax

This is all from my left ear mind you. The penny is for scale. It did not come out of my ear.

Tags:

15 Responses to “Ear Wax Removal”

  1. The Sage Says:

    Impressive and rather beautiful. They almost look yummy. Like raisins.
    Just don’t suck your eardrums out.

    Remember the ear candles? The waxy substance that you got at the end of the process was not wax. It was all an illusion. But I think you got the real thing here, baby.

    “Oh, my ears feel so free now, so sensitive, so liberated.”

  2. Leigh Ann Says:

    Please post photo of lavage device :)

  3. TYOTD Says:

    Two comments:

    #1 – Sick.
    #2 – Doesn’t work.

  4. toby Says:

    TWSS

  5. kim Says:

    my doctor does this using a water-pik.
    gross! but apparently effective.

  6. nathan colgate Says:

    “Please post photo of lavage device” +1

  7. Emma - Aqua Viva Health Says:

    Ear candling is so much more relaxing that hosing water in your ears – think warmth and massage…mind you, with wax like that, it might take a long time with the candles to clear them!

  8. Giselle Says:

    Its also bad to take TOO MUCH ear wax out, mind you.

    http://www.getridofthings.com/get-rid-of-ear-wax.htm

  9. Sidra Says:

    BLECHHHH…i’ve never seen brown ear wax!! mine is always powdery and yellow…!

  10. Jon Carthy Says:

    In August, 1974 I was surfing all day at Cahoon’s Hollow in Wellfleet, Mass. After about 6 hours of back n’ forth in the surf, I felt a heaviness in my right ear like something had become lodged in my ear canal. It didn’t feel like water, which is common. All of a sudden there was a rush of evervesence of foam/air and my friend said a big gob is coming out. No, I couldn’t feel it. I reach up and pulled out a 2.5 inch long piece of very hardened ear wax, which I kept to show my doctor. I had pressure headaches prior, but had not detected any hearing loss prior or gain any after. I never use q-tips since then. the salt water and 6 hours going in and out of the water broke up the wax.

  11. Betty Says:

    The darker the wax, the older it is. My dad had waxy ears and so do I. We’re both diabetic.

    Sometimes I don’t even realize I’m not hearing very well. After my ears are cleaned I feel like I can hear too much.

  12. Kimberly Loomis Says:

    Grodie! I just read that dry wax is more common among those of the Asian persuasion and wet wax is more common from those of European decent. Interesting!

  13. Peter Says:

    just a note, ear candling is quack nonsense. It does nothing but make you look like a human birthday cake. It doesn’t remove anything, and can be dangerous. I fell for it when I was younger. When you get finished, it looks to have removed wax, but if you try burning one by itself, it looks the same. See a doctor or get an ear wax removal kit at the drugstore.

  14. clash of clans cheats without downloads Says:

    Aw, this was an extremely nice post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to create
    a superb article… but what can I say… I pput things off a whole lot and
    don’t seem to get anything done.

  15. waxing places Says:

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on full face waxing.
    Regards

Leave a Reply

