Tiny Ignorant Baby

by

In another month, three years will have passed since I first left my home bound for Kenya. I have now been back in my home state of Kansas for six months. Although this is not yet a half-anniversary, it seems to me filled with portent. I look ahead and imagine a day when I can say that I have been a year out of Kenya. I am not sure this is a statement I want to be able to make. I fear it. Below are my words and image in those early days. Let me assure you this child of a man has no idea what is waiting for him. He is a baby. A tiny, ignorant baby.

tiny ignorant baby

14 January 2004, 11:18

Greetings all,

Toby here. I am writing this message with about 2 hours before I am taken to the airport. I will board the plane for London around 6:30 Eastern time. I should arrive in Heathrow airport about 6:30 am local time. Hopefully I will have no problem locating Jeremy’s hotel. For those of you who don’t know, Jeremy Chrysler is an old friend of mine who happens to be working in London this week. I am very thankful that I will get to see one more old friend on my way to Kenya. I will return to Heathrow airport to fly out at 10:00 pm local time. I should arrive in Kenya the morning of the 16th at 9:30 am local.

Please pray that my movement through the checks at Nairobi airport be smooth. Please also pray for me that I will be gracious and not a burden to my Kenyan host family during my language training. And finally, pray that I will learn the Swahili language as I have had limited success learning languages thus far in life.

Before I depart I think I will take a walk in the winter air and drink some ice water right out of the tap. I can think of little better way to say goodbye to my home country.

Please be patient with me for the next few days. Internet access may be limited while living with my host family. I will send another update as soon as possible. Thanks for all your prayers and support.

-Toby

pebble

5 Responses to “Tiny Ignorant Baby”

  1. katherine Says:

    Toby, this blog is the best idea since line rider.
    Don’t be like me and keep it up, glad i could be your first…twss?

  2. toby Says:

    TWSS in the first comment? I declare this blog a success already.

  3. mike Says:

    the photo is fitting — perched on the edge of a great drop into the unknown.

  4. hannah Says:

    what mike said… but such a sweet baby.

  5. beth Says:

    i love photos like that – taken at a time just before or right at the beginning of a great adventure. fun to look back on that old self.

Leave a Reply

